API Management – API Solution

APIs – 从API管理到API集成解决方案

API集成和管理 - 让API的世界如此简单

APIs实时集成应用程序、系统和贸易伙伴。从移动Apps,电商或云平台以及实体店或销售点,APIs能够快速、安全、轻松地访问数据和业务流程,并让系统、程序、移动设备和Apps之间实现对接和业务交互。

--> APIs是数字化转型的关键

我们将解析下述疑问:到底什么是APIs?为什么API如此重要?APIs能提供哪些机遇和可能性?APIs如何管理? API全生命周期管理包括哪些内容?

我们还将向您介绍一款实用的API解决方案并回答APIs和API管理相关的常见疑问。

  1. 为什么APIs如此重要?
  2. 什么是API?
  3. APIs – 带来新的机遇和可能性
  4. API集成 – 保证流畅通讯
  5. API管理 – 如何执行?
  6. API解决方案
  7. API专题

1. 为什么APIs如此重要?

应用程序接口(APIs)集成业务流程、服务、内容和数据。轻松安全地对接贸易伙伴、系统、内部团队和大量其它资源。

APIs构建了一个数字化世界。当今,API线上门户的目录中列出了20,000多条APIs,每个月还会再增加几百条,其趋势呈上升状态。而且,只有公有的APIs才列在这些目录中。如果将企业内部当前使用的APIs算在内的话,20,000条也只是个保守数字。

为什么APIs对于业务来说变的如此重要?

APIs使已存的应用功能和数据可被其它的系统和程序使用。这意味着,比如,企业数据库中的数据可通过一个API被其它企业内部系统 (通过遗留系统集成) 使用。在APIs之前,只有独立的或本地使用的资源才能被其它系统所用。

--> 一个企业的内部集成做的越好,不同系统之间的APIs对接就会越好,获取的信息也会越准确越全面。比如对于客户和企业本身来说,会增加明显的竞争优势

除了内部的网络互联,APIs也可开启通向外部世界的大门,帮助企业实现创新,构建新的业务模式并从数字化转型中获益。许多企业已经给其供应商、客户和贸易伙伴提供APIs,用于获取相关信息。而且,APIs让这些信息可直接安装到其它系统中并可实时获取。至于专业的API管理怎样帮助您走在时代前沿,我们在本文第五节“API管理 -如何执行?”中另有说明。

-->当外部贸易伙伴访问内部APIs时,通常会开发一个能产生额外收入的新业务模式,其带来的机遇是无可限量的。

2. 什么是API?

API是应用程序接口的英文缩写。应用程序接口在软件开发中扮演着十分重要的角色。一个程序通过接口向其它程序或系统提供其功能即称作APIs。这些APIs将程序和系统彼此对接,开放数据仓,让新程序的开发者能够访问并重复使用已存的应用和数据源。APIs能够开放多种功能单元给外部世界并将平台和生态系统对接。它们是为实时场景设计的,并非为处理海量数据。APIs可满足任何系统、程序、移动服务或App之间的业务交互。

简而言之,APIs作为一个接口提供标准化的方式清晰定义一个系统或程序能够实时提供的任何数据或功能。这些快速轻松的系统和程序访问点转变了整个业务模式并在全球开启了新的战略方向。

根据APIs的使用方式,它们可被划分为三种不同的APIs类型:

  • 内部/私有APIs
  • 贸易伙伴APIs
  • 公共APIs

您可在我们的博客"到底什么是API"中了解更多详情。

3. APIs – 带来新的机遇和可能性

当亚马逊创始人Jeff Bezos在2002年对其雇员发布著名指令宣布API为第一战略时,他就意识到了数字化的未来将建立在数据开放的战略上—— 数据开放不只局限在企业内部,也需对外: 

亚马逊创始人兼执行董事Jeff Bezos于 2002年发布

著名指令

  • 所有团队从此将通过服务接口公开他们的数据和功能。
  • 团队之间必须通过这些接口进行通信。
  • 除了网络上的服务接口之外,不允许进行其他进程间通信。
  • 他们使用什么技术并不重要。
  • 所有服务接口无一例外都必须设计为可对外的,没有特例。
  • 任何不这样做的人都将被解雇。

谢谢大家,祝好!

指令中有两条对APIs的开发和他们如今取得的成就至关重要:

第一条
从现在起,所有团队将通过服务接口(APIs)提供数据和功能。

第五条
所有服务接口无一例外都必须设计为可对外的,没有特例。
(必须可与客户分享或对外部世界开放)

所以,Jeff Bezos首先决定开发内部APIs满足公司内部需求(保证实用性)。接下来,他下令与贸易伙伴产生协同效应,从一开始就将这些APIs设计成可被外部使用的。

--> 在以API接口为特点的IT环境下开发新的服务、业务模式或功能更加轻松。因此,企业能够为未来的长远发展做好准备,推动更加吸引雇员、贸易伙伴和客户的举措。而高效使用APIs的前提永远都在于专业的API管理。

这就是亚马逊为何如此成功的原因。

  • 当今,几乎所有的零售商都通过APIs对接亚马逊并将其作为分销渠道。
  • 许多家庭通过API在亚马逊上进行视频引流并使用Alexa作为语音控制的搜索引擎。
  • 无论交付服务、音像制品、首家亚马逊店铺或其它,您都需要通过APIs对接来实现。

使用APIs带来夸行业竞争优势:

  • 许多企业提供供应链管理APIs向客户交付实时的库存信息、完整的产品目录或当前的价格列表。APIs让客户能够直接将更新的信息集成到订单系统中。
  • 公共事业通过APIs使用数字化电表实时、持续地交付能源消耗情况给他们的合作客户。
  • 消费品企业通过APIs集成提供服务,或将用户体验和服务范围拷贝到其自营的网络渠道以面对如亚马逊或Wayfari这样的市场巨头。
  • 银行正通过传统的集成流程(如大文件传输MFT)向B2B客户提供大规模、高质量的交易状态和实时信息。
  • 许多情况下,付费模式已经取代了预付费模式。对于消费品企业来说,这意味着通过API对接到中央结算中心进行数据交互并能够测定该产品的使用情况。
  • 对内部数字化设施和内部数据的重复利用或组合能够带来高质量、适销对路的服务。
  • 销售点的信息可直接作为付费服务实时提供给制造商。制造商将Twitter或Facebook等社交媒体上获取的消费者信息结合起来分析和使用该数据。

工业物联网、APIs和无限可能性

大型电控机械供应商通过使用APIs现在能够对设备数据进行中央管控。每台设备通过其自己的APIs对接IT系统定期传输不同的数据。早期可监测出设备故障和损害情况,并提供维护措施,需要时可采购或更换备件。与基于API架构的设施对接,这些数据可直接传输到ERP系统、库存系统或交付给相关员工,为提升业务效率增加更多机会。

而且,APIs的使用范围远远超出共享设备数据。事实上,对可用的程序来说没有任何限制。从高速路上的传感器到货运集装箱,数据通过APIs传输给供应链中的站点进行通讯。使用APIs,智能家电可通过程序进行操控,台式机可组成可通讯的IT设施,还能够对接外部贸易伙伴并集成您的贸易伙伴门户。

APIs的界限正在转变并正在为数字化时代创造更多机遇。

4. API集成 – 保证流畅通讯

通常,APIs的使用没有任何限制。无论是机械设备、公路传感器、海运或铁路集装箱,他们的数据都可通过APIs进行交互并与外界通讯。通过APIs,智能家电可通过程序来控制,台式机可组成可通讯的IT设施,还能够对接外部贸易伙伴并集成您的贸易伙伴门户。包罗万象的API推动数字化边界并带来更多机遇。

但如何从不同的来源、通过不同的对接、用不同的格式收集所有这些数据呢? 关键就在于API集成。

在APIs领域,API集成是指责任接口的翻译过程。API集成能让各个功能单元相互之间实现通讯。相邻功能单元的数据目标格式和输入数据单元的目标结构可能有很大的差异,协调起来非常困难。而且,发送响应数据也必须用适当的格式。

所有这些翻译任务都通过API集成进行处理。

另一个事实是一个API不是必须只和一个功能单元对接。根据使用场景和基础设施架构,API请求必须针对不同的后台系统进行不同的请求。既然相关的后台系统可通过多种方式通讯,那么多维度的API集成最终也需提供一个统一的响应模式。

在我们的博客: "什么是API集成" 中获取更多信息并了解API集成相关的挑战与应对措施。

5. API管理 – 如何运行?

API管理是在一个安全、受保护的环境中对API进行管理、调节、保护和监视的过程。API管理让您能够管控内部和外部或其它组织提供的数量越来越多的APIs。专业的API管理满足所有API相关者 – 包括API发布者、API开发者、APP开发者和API使用者的需求。

API发布者:提供APIs给他人的企业(或部门),也负责APIs管理和API日常使用的监控。

API开发者:负责开发一个或多个APIs的个人。

APP开发者:使用API开发者开发的以及API发布者提供和维护的API,并基于该API开发App。这样,App开发者通过使用API可以为其创造的App带来附加价值。

API使用者:单纯使用API而没有将其嵌入到基于其开发的App中,比如市场部门使用一个Facebook API对某个活动进行社交媒体反馈分析。API使用者根据需求对所提供的API发出单独的、不定期请求。

API管理是直接或间接服务所有API相关者的核心要素。API需要针对性的管理和监控。

为什么API需要管理: 不受管控的APIs不安全且不能有效地被重复使用。它们的采用率很低。如果APIs没有受到恰当的管理,基于服务架构的系统和程序可能因为不受保护而遭遇风险。总而言之,不受管控的APIs是损害企业的根本原因且最终会带来高昂的业务成本。我们的API管理图表将受管控的APIs和不受管控的APIs进行对比并阐述受管控的APIs带来的优势。

API管理是避免企业遭遇风险的方案!

更多相关内容请阅读我们的博客文章: 什么是API管理?

API管理引领潮流

没有API管理就没有数字化转型,没有API集成就没有API管理。

下载E3zine.com中的相关文章

API全生命周期管理的挑战

一个组织提供的APIs越多,地址和实际用户基数越大,对APIs整个生命周期的管理越有帮助。其会提供一个管理所有APIs的全景视图。

 一个API从设计到发布再到终结的整个流程称作API生命周期。API生命周期必须被管理、记录,而且这些记录文档需提供给所有API相关者和APIs使用者。

在详细解释了什么是API集成和API管理之后,API全生命周期管理是贯穿整个APIs发展过程的管理和控制。也可理解为是API管理的一种原则性方法。为了用专业和满足未来发展的方式应对APIs全生命周期管理的挑战,市场上出现了各种各样的API供应商。2019年10月,SEEBURGER AG被列在Gartner发表的API全生命周期管理魔力象限中。

总之,API全生命周期管理处理API在各个生命阶段的管理和组织工作。依据Gartner的说法,API生命周期可分为5个阶段:

  • 计划和设计:一个API的功能是什么,谁拥有访问权限,预计的访问量是多少等等。
  • 实施和测试:定义API的实施和测试以便及早发现问题。
  • 部署和运行(基础版):在API目录和定义指南中采用API文档,其中包含调停、流量管理和安全问题。
  • 部署和运行(高级版):定义深层Meta信息并创建API货币化、采用率和使用频率的相关报告。
  • 版本更新和停用:基于采集的数据决定一个API该被停用、扩展或像之前一样继续使用。

API整个生命周期管理伴随着API从设计、交付到功能强化或终止的全过程,更多详情请阅读我们的博客文章:什么是API全生命周期管理。

SEEBURGER BIS API解决方案

满足API提供者和使用者的API集成和API管理方案

下载白皮书

6. API解决方案

本文上述章节介绍了APIs领域中的独立组件及其功能,最后我们要阐述这些独立的元素如何整合成一个整体以及您作为一个企业管理者如何更好的使用它们实现您的目标。

SEEBURGER BIS API解决方案是一个支持API集成的综合解决方案。贯穿API从创建、实施、发布到使用的整个生命周期并支持API保护、API使用监控和身份验证及访问权限管理。

SEEBURGER BIS API解决方案包括下列组件:

  • BIS API集成 (BIS API/EAI解决方案)
    满足各种集成场景的开发、管理、监管和控制。包含系统集成和ad hoc集成。直观的网页前端,甚至不需要编程只需简单配置就可实施新的API。
  • BIS API管理 (BIS API管理解决方案)
    用相关组件保证API管理:
  • API网关 - 托管和执行API代理,强化API管理。检查请求访问权限并将调用路由到内部服务或将其转换为内部接口调用。
  • API门户 - 一个网页应用为API供应商和API使用者/APP开发者提供定制化基于用户角色的功能,减少管理和通讯开销。

为了建立一个功能性API架构满足所有需求且符合未来最佳定位,以下基础模块是必须具备的:

 

API管理+ API集成= API解决方案

 

 

API优先策略满足B2B销售新模式

OSRAM通过API管理和API集成对接多个系统到Salesforce并成功完成下一代销售项目的第一阶段。

想要将APIs整合到战略发展中的企业应该从一开始就构建一个清晰的架构。通常,企业拥有少部分APIs还是比较容易管理。但APIs的数量增长是非常快的,这就使维护管理变的越来越困难。其中涉及的系统和人员也会越来越多,这会将非结构化的解决方案推向极致。

这对您意味着什么呢?

使用和部署APIs只是众多庞大流程中的一个步骤。无论您想使用APIs作为新业务模式的基础,集中处理内部数据,或是使用一个清晰的APP让员工的日常工作变的轻松,都可以实现。

APIs是通向数字化的钥匙!

为您的业务锁定一个API解决方案,你需要一个经验丰富的合作伙伴。SEEBURGER提供API管理解决方案让您掌握APIs并使其发挥最大效应。

是否对我们的API解决方案感兴趣?

让我们的API集成专家为您提供帮助吧!

API Management – API Solution

APIs – from API Management to API Solution

The World of API simplified – API Integration and API Management

APIs connect applications, systems and partners in real time. From mobile apps, e-business or cloud, to on-site or point-of-sales connections, APIs enable fast, secure, easy access to data and business processes. They enable interaction between systems, applications, mobile devices and apps.

--> APIs are your key to digitalization.

We will answer these questions: What are APIs, exactly? Why are APIs so important? What opportunities and possibilities do APIs offer? How are APIs managed? What does API Full Lifecycle Management include?

We will also introduce you to a useful API solution and answer the most frequently asked questions about APIs and API Management.

  1. Why are APIs so important?
  2. What is an API?
  3. APIs – new opportunities and possibilities
  4. API Integration – to ensure smooth communication
  5. API Management – how does it work?
  6. The API-Solution

1. Why are APIs so important?

Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) integrate business processes, services, content and data. They connect partners, systems, internal teams and numerous other sources easily and securely.

APIs shape the digital world. Today there are more than 20,000 APIs listed in API online portal directories, with several hundred being added every month, and the trend is rising. In addition, only public APIs are listed in these directories. If you consider the countless APIs that are currently used internally by companies, the number 20,000 is conservative at best.

 

Why have APIs become so important to business?

APIs enable existing application functions and data to be leveraged by other systems and applications. This means, for example, that with an API, data within a company database can be made available to other internal systems. Before APIs, only isolated or locally used resources could be made available to other systems.

--> The better a company is internally integrated and the better it connects different applications with each other through APIs, the more accurate and comprehensive the information it obtains, for example, about its customers and itself, which gives it a significant competitive edge.

In addition to internal networking, APIs can also open the door to the outside world for companies to innovate, create new business models and take advantage of their digital transformation. Many companies are already providing APIs to suppliers, customers and other partners to help them access relevant information. In addition, APIs allow this information to be directly implemented into other systems, where it can be accessed in real time. How professional API management can help you stay on top of things is explained in chapter 5 - "API management - how does it work?”.

--> Where external partners get access to internal APIs, it is often possible to develop a business model that generates additional revenue. There are virtually no limits to the opportunities.

2. What is an API?

API is an acronym for Application Programming Interface. Application Programming Interfaces play an important role in software development. A program provides its functionality to other programs or systems via interfaces, so-called APIs. These APIs connect applications and systems with each other, open data silos, enable developers of new applications to access and reuse existing applications and data sources. They can open various functional units to the outside world and connect platforms with ecosystems. They are designed for real-time scenarios, less for mass data, and enable today's interactions between any system, application, mobile device or app.

In short, APIs as interfaces provide a standardized way for clearly defining the kind of data or functionality a system or application can provide in real-time. These quick and easy entry points to systems and applications have transformed entire business models and initiated completely new strategic business orientations.

Depending on how APIs are used, they can be categorized in three different types of APIs:

  • Internal/Private APIs
  • Partner APIs
  • Public APIs

Learn all about the way APIs work in our detailed blog "What exactly is an API"

3. APIs – new opportunities and possibilities

How it all began

When Amazon founder Jeff Bezos proclaimed the API First strategy in his famous mandate in 2002, he was already aware that the digital future will be built on a strategy of data opening - not only internally, but also externally: 

Jeff Bezos, CEO and founder of AMAZON, 2002

The Famous Mandate

  • All teams will henceforth expose their data and functionality through service interfaces.
  • Teams must communicate with each other through these interfaces.
  • No other interprocess communication is allowed other than service interfaces over the network.
  • It doesn't matter what technology they use.
  • All service interfaces, without exception, must be designed to be externalizable. No exceptions.
  • Anyone who doesn't do this will be fired.

Thank you, have a nice day!

Two points of this mandate are critical to the development of APIs and the status they have achieved today:

Point 1
From now on, all teams will provide their data and functionalities via service interfaces (APIs).

Point 5
All these APIs must be designed to be externalizable - without exception.

(Must be shareable with the customer or the outside world)

So Jeff Bezos first dictates to develop APIs internally, according to the company's own needs (which ensures their practicality). In the following, he orders the synergy effects with business partners to design these APIs from the start in such a way that they can also be used externally.

--> The development of new services, business models and features is much easier in an IT landscape characterized by API interfaces. Companies are thus prepared for the future in the long term and more attractive for employees, partners and customers. However, the prerequisite for the efficient use of APIs is always professional API management.

This is THE reason why Amazon is so successful.

  • Almost every retailer today also uses Amazon as a distribution channel - via APIs.
  • Many households stream their videos via Amazon and use Alexa as a voice-controlled search engine - via APIs.
  • Whether for the delivery service, music, or your first own Amazon shop, etc. - the connection runs via APIs.

Cross-industry competitive advantages thanks to the use of APIs:

  • Many companies provide supply chain management APIs to deliver real-time inventory information, a complete product catalog or current pricing information to their customers. APIs enable customers to integrate this up-to-date information directly into their ordering system.
  • Utilities are working to deliver real-time, continuous energy consumption to their corporate customers via APIs using digitized electricity meters that are integrated via APIs.
  • Consumer goods companies face market giants like Amazon or Wayfair by offering their services through integrated APIs or even copying their customer experience and range of services to their own web channels.
  • Banks are providing their B2B customers with high-quality real-time information on the status of mass transactions received via traditional integration processes such as MFT.
  • In many cases, the pay-for-use model has replaced the prepayment model. For consumer goods, this can mean measuring usage and transferring the data via an API to a central billing center.
  • New high-quality, marketable services were created from the reuse and/or combination of internal data with the internal digital infrastructure.
  • Information from the point of sale can be provided directly to the manufacturer of the goods as a chargeable service in real time. The manufacturer can then analyze and use this data in combination with consumer information provided via Twitter or Facebook (via API).

Industrial IoT, APIs and Unlimited Possibilities

Providers of large, electronically controlled machines are now able to centrally monitor machine data using APIs. Each machine is connected to the system via its own APIs and transmits various data at regular intervals. Possible malfunctions and wear are detected at an early stage, maintenance can be provided, and spare parts ordered or exchanged when needed. In conjunction with an API-based infrastructure, this data can be directly networked with the ERP system, inventory, employees, etc., providing multiple opportunities for new efficiencies.

However, the scope of APIs goes beyond machine data. In fact, there are literally no limits to the possible applications. From sensors on a highway, to shipping containers to a cargo bay, data is transmitted via APIs to communicate with stops on a supply chain. Intelligent household appliances can be controlled via applications, desktops can be woven into a communicating IT infrastructure, and external partners can be connected and integrated into your partner portal, all via APIs.

The boundaries of APIs are shifting, and creating new opportunities in the digital age.

4. API Integration – to ensure smooth communication

There are literally no limits to the possible uses of APIs. Be it machine data, sensors on the motorway, containers in shipping or railway trains, they can all transfer data and communicate with the outside world via APIs. Intelligent household appliances can be controlled via applications, desktops can be woven into a communicating IT infrastructure, and external partners can be connected and integrated via APIs. The universe of APIs pushes boundaries and creates new possibilities in the age of digitalization.

Yet, how is it possible that all this data can be collected and used from different sources, via different connections and in different formats? The cue is API integration.

In the context of APIs, API integration refers to the translation process for which the interface is responsible. It enables connected functional units to communicate with each other. The target structure of adjacent functional units and data units can differ greatly, which can make mediation difficult. In addition, outgoing responses must also be transmitted in the appropriate format.

All these translation tasks are handled by API integration.

Another factor is the fact that an API does not necessarily have to be associated with only one functional unit. Depending on the scenario and the structure of the infrastructure, it is necessary that the request of an API must be resolved into various request types on different backend systems. Since the respective backend systems can communicate in different ways, multidimensional API integration is necessary to finally provide a unified response.

Learn more in our blog: "What is API Integration" and discover the challenges associated with API integration and how they can be met.

5. API Management – how does it work?

API management is the process of managing, regulating, securing and monitoring APIs in a secure and protected environment. It enables you to control the increasing number of internal and external APIs used or provided by an organization. Professional API management addresses the needs of all API stakeholders - API publishers, API developers, APP developers and API consumers.

API Publisher: The company (or department) that provides APIs for others. It is also responsible for administering the APIs and monitoring daily API usage.

API Developer: The person responsible for developing one or more APIs

App-Developer: He uses the API provided and maintained by the API Publisher, which the API Developer has developed, and integrates it into his App, respectively he develops his App based on the provided API. In this way, he creates an additional benefit to be provided by his App using the API.

API Consumer: Use an API without integrating it into an App developed for it. This means, for example, that a marketing department uses a Facebook API to analyse reactions in social media to specific actions. It does this with individual, irregular requests to the API provided, as needed.

API management is the core element serving all stakeholders, directly or indirectly. APIs need to be managed and monitored accordingly.

Unmanaged APIs are not secure and cannot be reused efficiently. Their acceptance rate is low. If not properly managed, they put a service-based infrastructure of systems and applications at risk because they are not protected. In summary, APIs, if unmanaged, are the primary cause of business vulnerability and ultimately result in high costs.

API management is the solution to avert this threat to the company!

Learn more about the tasks of API management, how it can be part of the API infrastructure and all the challenges in our detailed blog: What is API management?

6. The API Solution

The previous sections described the individual components in the universe of APIs and their functions. Finally, we address the questions of how these individual elements are connected as a whole and how you as an organization can best use them for your purposes.

The SEEBURGER BIS API Solution is a comprehensive solution to support API-based integration. It covers the entire API lifecycle, from creation, implementation, publishing to use, and supports API protection, API usage monitoring, and identity and access rights management.

The SEEBURGER BIS API Solution includes the following components:

  • BIS API Integration (BIS API/EAI-Lösung)
    Enables the development, administration, monitoring and control of all types of integration scenarios. This involves both systematic integration and ad hoc integration. The intuitive WebFront-End makes it possible to implement new APIs simply by configuration, even without programming.
  • BIS API Management (BIS API Management Solution)
    Is responsible for ensuring API governance with the associated components:
  • API Gateway - hosts and executes API proxies that enforce API governance. Checks the access
    rights of the requester and routes the calls to internal services or converts them to internal interface calls
  • API Portal - provides customized role-based functionality for API vendors and API consumers/APP developers through a Web-based application, minimizing administration and communication overhead.

In order to establish a functioning API infrastructure that meets all requirements and is optimally positioned for the future, both building blocks are required:

 

API Management + API Integration = API Solution

 

 

Companies that want to integrate APIs into their corporate strategy should therefore establish a clear structure from the beginning. Typically, companies start with a few APIs that are easy to manage. The amount of APIs often grows rapidly, making it more and more difficult to maintain control. The number of systems and people involved can also increase quickly, pushing unstructured solutions to their limits.

What does this mean for you?

Consuming or deploying APIs is only one step in a much larger process. Whether you want to use APIs as the foundation for a new business model, centralize internal data, or make everyday work easier for employees with a clear APP, you can do it.

APIs are your key to digitalization!


To target an API solution for your business, you need an experienced partner. SEEBURGER offers an API management solution that enables you to master APIs for maximum results.

Are you interested in our API Integration Solution?

Let our API Integration experts guide you